Clinical Genetics

Clinical Genetics

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Oskar Haas (MD)

Group Leader Email: oskar.haas(at)labdia.at
Vice Medical Director of Labdia Labordiagnostik GmbH (LabDia)

>Research Team Clinical Genetics

>Diagnostics Team Clinical Genetics

Research Focus

Leukaemias are malignant diseases of the haematopoietic system that are caused by genetic defects. Our primary task is to diagnose and in detail characterise these diverse changes which are important for specific treatment and basic research, with the use of molecular and cytogenetic methods.

Our group focuses on the diagnostic evaluation, classification and research of congenital and acquired genetic diseases, primarily lymphatic and myeloid leukaemias in children. Over the years, we have continuously developed and refined the molecular and cytogenetic methods underlying these investigations, adapting and optimising them according to any given state of the art, and have devised novel strategies to facilitate the rapid and efficient evaluation of any genetic parameter crucial for leukaemia treatment. Working closely with both internal groups and those in charge of national and international studies, we were able to define and clarify the biological, functional and clinical significance of a number of newly identified subgroup-specific genetic markers. In close cooperation with clinically active colleagues, the results of our investigations lead to improved risk stratification and treatment of the respective patients. In addition, they also form the basis for a large number of research projects that are carried out in close cooperation with other members of our internal interdisciplinary leukaemia working group. Another focal point of our research interest is the elucidation of genetic factors predisposing to malignant diseases, not only in children with leukaemias and solid tumours but also in those with non-malignant diseases of the haematopoietic and immunological system.

Projects:

CLOSER (https://closerleukemia.eu/)

LEGEND (https://www.legend-cost.eu/)

Selected Articles

Oskar A Haas:

Petra Zeitlhofer:

Karin Nebral:

Research Team Clinical Genetics

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Oskar Haas, MD

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Oskar Haas, MD

Group Leader

oskar.haas@labdia.at
+43 1 40470 4800

Karin Nebral, PhD

Karin Nebral, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow

mailto:karin.nebral@ccri.at
+43 1 40470 4070

Petra Zeitlhofer, PhD

Petra Zeitlhofer, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow

Petra.zeitlhofer@labdia.at
+43 1 40470 4073

Sören Mai, PhD

Sören Mai, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow

soeren.mai@labdia.at
+43 1 40470 4850

Gerda Modarres, MSc

Gerda Modarres, MSc

Bioinformatician

gerda.modarres@ccri.at
+43 1 40470 4075

Ana Pudja, MSc, cPMA

Ana Pudja, MSc, cPMA

Project Manager

ana.pudja@ccri.at
+43 1 40470 4875

Reza Abbasi, MD, PhD

Reza Abbasi, MD, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow

reza.abbasi@ccri.at
+43 1 40470 4070

Andrea Inthal, PhD

Andrea Inthal, PhD

Technician

andrea.inthal@labdia.at
+43 1 40470 4070

Sabrina Haslinger, MSc

Sabrina Haslinger, MSc

Technician

sabrina.haslinger@labdia.at
+43 1 40470 4070

Margit König

Margit König

Technician

margit.koenig@ccri.at
+43 1 40470 4870

Michaela Pregesbauer

Michaela Pregesbauer

Technician

michaela.pregesbauer@labdia.at
+43 1 40470 4870

Diagnostics Team Clinical Genetics

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Oskar Haas, MD

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Oskar Haas, MD

Group Leader

oskar.haas@labdia.at
+43 1 40470 4800

Karin Nebral, PhD

Karin Nebral, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow

mailto:karin.nebral@ccri.at
+43 1 40470 4070

Petra Zeitlhofer, PhD

Petra Zeitlhofer, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow

Petra.zeitlhofer@labdia.at
+43 1 40470 4073

Sören Mai, PhD

Sören Mai, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow

soeren.mai@labdia.at
+43 1 40470 4850

Reza Abbasi, MD, PhD

Reza Abbasi, MD, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow

reza.abbasi@ccri.at
+43 1 40470 4070

Andrea Inthal, PhD

Andrea Inthal, PhD

Technician

andrea.inthal@labdia.at
+43 1 40470 4070

Sabrina Haslinger, MSc

Sabrina Haslinger, MSc

Technician

sabrina.haslinger@labdia.at
+43 1 40470 4070

Ulrike Engel

Ulrike Engel

Technician

ulrike.engel@labdia.at
+43 1 40470 4850

Clemens Brunner

Clemens Brunner

Technician

clemens.brunner@labdia.at
+43 1 40470 4073

Eva Winkler

Eva Winkler

Technician

eva.winkler@ccri.at
+43 1 40470 4840

Maya Plank, BSc

Maya Plank, BSc

Technician

maya-marisol.plank@labdia.at
+43 1 40470 4850

Bettina Nocker

Bettina Nocker

Technician

Bettina.nocker@labdia.at
+43 1 40470 4850

Michaela Pregesbauer

Michaela Pregesbauer

Technician

michaela.pregesbauer@labdia.at
+43 1 40470 4870

Brigitte Grimm

Brigitte Grimm

Technician

brigitte.grimm@labdia.at
+43 1 40470 4820

Sven Wohlmacher

Sven Wohlmacher

Technician

sven.wohlmacher@labdia.at
+43 1 40470 4850

Dr. rer. nat. Julia Richter

Dr. rer. nat. Julia Richter

Technician

julia.richter@labdia.at
+43 1 40470 4073

Katharina Mattes, PhD

Katharina Mattes, PhD

Technician

katharina.mattes@labdia.at
+43 1 40470 4073

Margit König

Margit König

Technician

margit.koenig@ccri.at
+43 1 40470 4870

Affiliated Clinicians

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Andishe Attarbaschi, MD
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Michael N. Dworzak, MD
OA PD Dr. Georg Mann, MD
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Leo Kager, MD